Skip navigation

Following a discussion I had with my (best) friend (is a coder) today, I would like to highlight an important distinction that is to consider in between art and design.

Anyone that has studied some art history will be familiar with the Bauhaus movement. Bauhaus is a famous german school that highlighted and improved(?) the relation in between art and design. By doing so, Bauhaus inevitably took a major turn towards architecture, establising the bases of what contemporary architecture is today. In this school and per class, you would typically find two tutors, one that would be a “form master” an artist, and one that would be a “craft master” or “artisan” a designer. Student would then learn how to (try to) be able to mix art and design in a same work. Making a “practicable” object look better in spite of the obligations a practicable design implies for achieving everyday things such as taking a shower.

Bauhaus is one of the many movements that took place during the 20th century, “one of the many”. While I do enjoy Bauhaus I am much more attracted to other movements from dada to conceptual contemporary art.

Now coming to my main work in this virtual world, the Hangars Liquides simulators. Hangars liquides is not a design, it’s an art work of which practicability revolves around metaphysics.
What is art practicability? It’s the obscur path leading to your subconscious, a path that is way harder to walk on then a simple sidewalk.The path that I like to use in order to deliver the necessary messages I put into my art.

I don’t design walkways, I create metaphysical paths. I don’t design towers, I raise erections. I don’t design street lights, I bring hope. I don’t design telemetric cables, I give veins to a monster.

hangars liquides simulators

2 Comments

  1. “i raise erection” hehe. but dada was influential in the arts at bauhaus…
    [ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theo_van_Doesburg ]

    • indeed it’s good to mention this, Bauhaus is uniq. I needeed to brutaly change the subject so talking about my personnal tastes was a good opportunity to get to my point 🙂


Leave a comment